Cornea Transplant

Life sure is funny sometimes, like years ago when I decided I wanted to be an artist but was also diagnosed with a somewhat serious eye disease.  An artist that can’t see very well!  I guess that isn’t funny at all. But, that was the card I was dealt.  I was diagnosed with Kerataconus, and I struggled with it for many years until it got to the point that my cornea was scarred down the middle and my vision was very poor.  It finally came time to do a cornea transplant.  This happened a little more than two years ago.

For some reason it has been on my mind today.  I can’t believe it has been two years already.  The entire experience was very surreal for me; understanding that a stranger was going to die and I’d receive his/her tissue, accepting that part of my eye was going to be cut off and part of someone’s eye was going to be stitched to mine, and dealing with a year long recovery that was sometimes uncomfortable. It changed my life.

I never want to take for granted the special gift of sight I received.  I am so grateful.  I told myself then that all I could do to somehow show my gratefulness to my donor’s family was to use that gift to the best of my ability.  I had decided to work as hard as I could on my art and to learn as much as possible.  Two years later, I believe that I have lived up to that personal goal.  I don’t know my donor or his/her family, but I’d like to think they would feel honored.  I of course will continue to do everything I can to learn and create to the best of my ability.  Maybe someday they will see how their loved one changed my life.

Cornea transplant stitches

Author: angelameds

I'm an artist and photographer that sells fine art prints at my online store, Murdock's Gallery. My artwork mostly consists of both human and animal portraits and illustrations. My photography work is of landscapes, macro images and nature scenes. My medium of choice is digital painting where I use a pen, tablet and mouse as my tools to draw. I also work with pencils, pastels and other traditional mediums. Message me for information about pet portrait commissions, or visit my online store murdocksgallery.com

7 thoughts on “Cornea Transplant”

      1. I have Keratoconus too. 🙂 I am actually quite interested in people who have it because it is genetic, meaning that I am potentially related to others who have it. So far in my research I have found 2 people who have it who share ancestors with me from a couple of centuries ago, and another couple of people who have ancestors from at least the same district as some of mine. 🙂 It’s also grand to see another artist with it who is fighting it. As you probably know it comes with anxiety disorders and many people with it simply give up on following their dreams.

        Like

      2. Oh wow! That is really interesting. I never really thought of looking at it from that point of view. I mean, I knew it was genetic, but I never imagined finding people I could be related to in some way. I don’t think I personally know anyone else that has it. Very interesting!

        Like

Leave a Reply

