Have we Taken Art for Granted?

I pondered that question as I prepared some art and photography prints for a Winter Art/Craft show.  The internet has made finding art easier than ever, but do we slow down to enjoy it?  Do we take in the artist’s message, experience the emotion, enjoy the beauty?  I have a feeling we far too often quickly look at a picture and then move on to the next forgetting the images as soon as we get our visual kick for the moment.

I unfortunately do this too often.  I am primarily a digital artist and photographer, so most of my work is done on a computer screen.  After matting about 50 artworks this past week, I was shocked to see how much I enjoyed being able to hold my art in my hand and view it for several minutes.  Of course I’m not saying there is anything wrong with viewing art online.  I just think we could all benefit from slowing down a bit and enjoying the art.  Take in the beauty, bookmark what you really like and go back to it at a later time, buy art that is special to you, talk to the artist, etc.

Anyway, as I said earlier, all this came about when I was matting prints for the show.  This will be my first time selling art at an art/craft show, and I’m really excited, but a little nervous too.  I’ll post more about that later.  For now here is a picture of some of the work I’ve prepared.

12313522_10153766327942162_2410799381786484439_n

Author: angelameds

I'm an artist and photographer that sells fine art prints at my online store, Murdock's Gallery. My artwork mostly consists of both human and animal portraits and illustrations. My photography work is of landscapes, macro images and nature scenes. My medium of choice is digital painting where I use a pen, tablet and mouse as my tools to draw. I also work with pencils, pastels and other traditional mediums. Message me for information about pet portrait commissions, or visit my online store murdocksgallery.com

Leave a Reply

