End of Summer Sketchbook Challenge

I’m going to let you know a little secret about myself.  I’m an artist, but I don’t often sketch in a sketchbook, at least not in a way that you can imagine most artists do.  I tend to get an idea in my head, draw it and finish it.  I don’t do a lot of doodling, thumbnails or sketches beforehand.  I don’t draw daily.  I believe this hinders my creativity and experimentation with compositions.  What’s worse is that many of my ideas never make it to paper.  How many of you can say the same thing about your own ideas that never come to fruition?

I’ve decided to try to do a sketchbook challenge for myself.  I’ve tried before and failed, but I’m giving myself another chance.  What is the challenge?  It’s simple.  I just need to completely fill one sketchbook by October.  Two full months isn’t really a lot of time to fill a sketchbook, but I think the shorter deadline will keep me focused.  I’ll share my progress and thoughts as I go, and show the sketchbook at the end.

I want you to do this with me! Maybe you aren’t an artist, but maybe you like to write.  Make a goal to fill a journal, or write so many pages or words.  Maybe you are a photographer.  Make a goal to take pictures daily, or a certain number of pictures by October.  Maybe you like to color.  Fill an entire coloring book.  It doesn’t really matter what you choose to do, the point is to push your creativity further.

You are welcome to share your progress with me along the way.  I’d love to hear from you.

 

Author: angelameds

I'm an artist and photographer that sells fine art prints at my online store, Murdock's Gallery. My artwork mostly consists of both human and animal portraits and illustrations. My photography work is of landscapes, macro images and nature scenes. My medium of choice is digital painting where I use a pen, tablet and mouse as my tools to draw. I also work with pencils, pastels and other traditional mediums. Message me for information about pet portrait commissions, or visit my online store murdocksgallery.com

Leave a Reply

